SHSND Home > North Dakota History > Unit 3: Commerce Culture, and Conflict, 1800-1878 > Creating Dakota Territory > House of Representatives Oath

Unit 3: Set 2. Creating Dakota Territory - House of Representatives Oath

Introduction | Territorial Documents | Celebration | Gov Letters | Oaths | Activity

Back to Oaths | Oath of Dakota Territorial Council | House of Representatives Oath

House of Representatives OathWe, and each of us, whose names are subscribed hereunto, do solemnly swear to support the constitution of the United States, and faithfully and impartially to discharge the duties devolving on us as Members of the House of Representatives of the Territory of Dakota. So help us God.

M. V. Armstrong
L. Burgess
J. A. Jacobson
J. C. Mc Bride
C. Maloney
A. W. Puett
John Stanage
John S. Tiernon
Reuben Wallace
George Waldron
B. E. Wood
A. Pinney
H. S. Donaldson

In Territory of Dakota
________ of Yankton             The above oath was administered by me orally to the above named signers thereto (except H. W. S. Donalson not then present) in the Hall of said House of Representatives and upon the organization thereof, on the 17th day of March A. D. 1862.

P. Bliss, Chief Justice of Dakota Territory

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
We will also be closed on Christmas Eve this year.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666