SHSND Home > North Dakota History > Unit 3: Commerce Culture, and Conflict, 1800-1878 > Creating Dakota Territory > Oath of Dakota Territorial Council

Unit 3: Set 2. Creating Dakota Territory - Oath of Dakota Territorial Council

Introduction | Territorial Documents | Celebration | Gov Letters | Oaths | Activity

Back to Oaths | Oath of Dakota Territorial Council | House of Representatives Oath

Oath of Council of Dakota TerritoryWe, and each of us, whose names are subscribed hereunto, do solemnly swear to support the Constitution of the United States, and faithfully and impartially to discharge the duties devolving upon us and each of us as members of the council of Dakota Territory, so help us God.

J. H. Shober
D. T. Bramble
Enos Stutsman
J. W. Boyle
J. Deuel
H. D. Betts
W.W. Brookings
Austin Cole

Sworn and subscribed to before me in the Council Chamber at Yancton this 17 day of March A. D. 1862.

P. Bliss Chief Jus Dakota Territory.

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
We will also be closed on Christmas Eve this year.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666