SHSND Home Archives State Agencies Barley Councill

OCLC WorldCat Logo

Digital Horizons

2017-2019 Blue Book Cover

Federal Depository Library Program

Chronicling America

Archives - State Agencies - Barley Council

[Authorized:  NDCC Chapter 4 and 4.1]

The 1983 Legislature (S.L.1983, Ch. 91) created the Barley Council. The Commissioner of Agriculture served as an ex-officio member and the state barley growers elected a five member council.  

The Council functions to promote and stabilize the barley industry. It administers the per bushel assessment tax on barley grown in the state to fund its programs. The Council determines the use of the money raised through research funded projects, educational programs, and market development. In addition the Council funds state, regional, national, and international entities that promote barley utilization.

The state is divided into five barley producing districts with one person elected from each district. Elected representatives must be citizens of the state and bona-fide residents and participating growers of the district they represent. If a Council member fails to meet the qualifications an election is held to fill the vacancy (S. L. 1983, Ch. 91). Originally each Council member served a three-year term. In 1997 (S. L. 1997, Ch. 64) the term increased to four years with members serving no more than three consecutive terms. The five member Council elects a chairman who schedules all meetings. An exception occurs when three members petition for a special meeting [NDCC 4.1-02-08]. 

The North Dakota Barley Council is part of the Agricultural Commodity Council. At the request of the Commissioner of Agriculture, the Legislature amended the Century Code so that the Commissioner or designee became a non-voting member of the Council. Other commodity group members are the Beef Commission, Beekeepers Association, Corn Utilization Council, Dairy Promotion Commission, Dry Bean Council, Dry Pea and Lentil Council, Oilseed Council, Potato Council, and the Soybean Council (S .L. 2009, Ch. 70, Ch. 80).    


1983       Legislature creates the Barley Council with a five-member board (S. L.1983, Ch.91).

1985       Appropriations aid in funding programs (S. L. 1985, Ch.24).

1997       First increase in per-bushel assessment (S. L. 1997, Ch. 64).

2005       Changes in barley district boundaries establishes equal opportunities in the barley  
producing districts (S. L. 2005, Ch. 64).

2009       Assessment per-bushel increases (S. L. 2009, Ch. 81).

2009       Barley Council joins the Agricultural Commodity Council. Chapter amended to North  
Dakota Century Code (S. L. 2009, Ch.70, Ch. 80).


31966    Barley Council, North Dakota. Director’s Files


North Dakota Century Code, Chapter 4 and 4.1.
North Dakota Secretary of State Blue Book.
North Dakota State Legislature Session Laws.

612 East Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505
Get Directions

State Museum and Store: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F; Sat. & Sun. 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
We are closed New Year's Day, Easter, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
We will also be closed on Christmas Eve this year.
State Archives: 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. M-F, except state holidays; 2nd Sat. of each month, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
State Historical Society offices: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, except state holidays.

Contact Us:
phone: 701.328.2666