Located one-half mile east of Fort Buford, the Missouri-Yellowstone Confluence Interpretive Center tells the story of the confluence of these two mighty rivers, as well as provides the same magnificent view that Lewis and Clark Expedition members enjoyed when they visited in 1805 and 1806. The rotunda area includeS three large murals featuring quotes from the Lewis and Clark Journals, and paintings of the Missouri River landscape by Colonel Philippe Régis de Trobriand, commanding officer of Fort Stevenson near present-day Garrison, N.D. in the late 1860s.
Permanent exhibits at the Missouri-Yellowstone Confluence Interpretive Center will explore the geography and geology of the area, its prehistoric life, and the impact of people arriving by Trails, Tracks, Rivers and Roads, which is also the name of the exhibits area. Featured in the 2,000-square-foot permanent gallery will be the Lewis and Clark journey, the fur trade era, Fort Buford, and the development of the modern-day irrigation and energy industries. There are more than 200 artifacts in the permanent gallery, including a frontier army transport wagon, a steamboat pilot's navigating wheel, and a 1903 Cadillac.
8 a.m. - 6 p.m. daily from May 16 - September 15.
September 16 - May 15, weekdays by appointment.
Phone: (701) 572-9034
15349 39th Ln. NW
Williston, ND 58801